Findings of the Halalang Marangal Citizens’ Audit Report #4 on the 2007 Senatorial Elections


The findings of the HALAL audit may be summarized as follows:

  1. Essential information such as the number of precincts actually tallied and/or the number of voters who actually voted were missing or plain wrong in the election reports of one-third of all the cities and provinces canvassed, indicating laxity bordering on negligence and/or incompetence on the part of municipal, provincial and national Comelec officials who prepared, submitted or accepted those reports.

  2. There were statistical and circumstantial evidence indicating that the results from Maguindanao were fraudulent, yet these were accepted by the National Board of Canvassers as part of the official results.

  3. The voter turnout was abnormally high in at least two provinces: Maguindanao (93.5%) and Sharif Kabunsuan (91.5%) and some municipalities of other ARMM provinces.

  4. The ballot fill up rate was statistically impossible in at least four cities: Quezon City (15.3), Mandaluyong (13.0), Pasig (12.6), and Paranaque (12.6) and in 6 of the 22 municipalities of Maguindanao.

  5. Significant changes in rankings suggest anomalous provincial/city Comelec results in at least twelve provinces and cities: Maguindanao, Sharif Kabunsuan, Tawi-tawi, Basilan, Lanao del Sur, Kalinga, Davao del Sur, Apayao, Sulu, Sultan Kudarat, Pasig, and Occidental Mindoro.

  6. Compared to 2004, vote discrepancies in 2007 were lower in 25 provinces/cities including some ARMM provinces, but higher in 73 provinces/cities.

  7. The ten biggest net gainers from the discrepancies were Recto, Villar, Zubiri, Escudero, Pangilinan, Pichay, Defensor, Sotto, Arroyo, and Singson, in that order.

  8. The biggest loser was Kiram, who lost votes even in his home region ARMM as well as in other provinces where his TU partymates gained votes.

  9. The votes for minor candidates (Kapatiran, KBL and Cantal) were shaved nationwide.

  10. Among the major candidates, the other big losers were Aquino, Montano, Osmena and Coseteng.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: